Skip to content
Redcar and Cleveland Counts — Redcar and Cleveland, in numbers.Local help →

Redcar and Cleveland, in numbers

People and living standards

Redcar and Cleveland council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Redcar and Cleveland council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 145,880 in 1991 to 139,541 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Redcar and Cleveland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 141,156 people in 1996; 139,541 people in 2025. 1.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Redcar and Cleveland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991145,880
1992145,721
1993144,256
1994143,469
1995142,395
1996141,156
1997140,666
1998140,380
1999139,542
2000139,193
2001139,159
2002138,520
2003138,565
2004138,643
2005138,177
2006137,621
2007136,940
2008136,512
2009135,867
2010135,383
2011135,164
2012134,951
2013134,838
2014135,106
2015135,370
2016135,344
2017135,584
2018136,276
2019136,699
2020136,571
2021136,605
2022137,087
2023137,810
2024138,788
2025139,541
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Redcar and Cleveland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 30,743 people in 1996; 23,941 people in 2025. 22.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Redcar and Cleveland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199131,729
199231,770
199331,673
199431,613
199531,281
199630,743
199730,385
199829,978
199929,576
200028,931
200128,468
200227,867
200327,558
200427,313
200526,838
200626,451
200725,940
200825,396
200924,900
201024,338
201124,162
201224,133
201324,149
201424,141
201524,240
201624,199
201724,440
201824,615
201924,584
202024,395
202124,167
202224,143
202324,180
202424,143
202523,941
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Redcar and Cleveland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 88,150 people in 1996; 81,342 people in 2025. 7.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Redcar and Cleveland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199192,756
199292,368
199390,840
199489,994
199589,017
199688,150
199787,837
199887,811
199987,144
200087,236
200187,372
200287,095
200387,130
200487,106
200586,921
200686,634
200786,203
200886,108
200985,586
201085,129
201184,577
201283,454
201382,741
201482,210
201581,978
201681,608
201781,172
201881,125
201980,965
202080,710
202180,501
202280,573
202380,821
202481,081
202581,342
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Redcar and Cleveland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,263 people in 1996; 34,258 people in 2025. 53.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Redcar and Cleveland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,395
199221,583
199321,743
199421,862
199522,097
199622,263
199722,444
199822,591
199922,822
200023,026
200123,319
200223,558
200323,877
200424,224
200524,418
200624,536
200724,797
200825,008
200925,381
201025,916
201126,425
201227,364
201327,948
201428,755
201529,152
201629,537
201729,972
201830,536
201931,150
202031,466
202131,937
202232,371
202332,809
202433,564
202534,258
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 136,530 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redcar and Cleveland · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,1600.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2650.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,1850.9%
White133,38897.7%
Other ethnic group5320.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 135,177 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redcar and Cleveland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White133,20398.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8530.6%
Asian/Asian British8690.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1220.1%
Other ethnic group1300.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 139,132 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Redcar and Cleveland · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White137,65998.9%
Mixed4460.3%
Asian/Asian British7110.5%
Black/Black British980.1%
Chinese/Other2180.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 24% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Redcar and Cleveland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,876 per person in 1997; £19,739 per person in 2024. 122.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Redcar and Cleveland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,876
19988,567
19999,092
20009,579
200110,057
200210,126
200310,390
200410,749
200511,124
200611,575
200711,759
200812,024
200912,757
201012,905
201113,146
201213,981
201314,210
201414,797
201515,183
201615,322
201715,591
201816,032
201916,484
202016,673
202116,873
202217,644
202318,672
202419,739
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Redcar and Cleveland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -16.3% in 1997; -24% in 2024. 7.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Redcar and Cleveland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-16.3
1998-20.9
1999-19.6
2000-19.5
2001-18.7
2002-20
2003-20.3
2004-20.8
2005-20.9
2006-21
2007-23.4
2008-23.6
2009-20.3
2010-20.1
2011-19.3
2012-17.2
2013-18.9
2014-18.2
2015-20.2
2016-20.4
2017-20.9
2018-21.4
2019-21.8
2020-20.6
2021-22.8
2022-23.2
2023-23.6
2024-24
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

49.5%

21 March 2021 · Redcar and Cleveland council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

21.7%

21 March 2021 · Redcar and Cleveland council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22%

21 March 2021 · Redcar and Cleveland council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.6%

21 March 2021 · Redcar and Cleveland council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£151,000

July 2026 · Redcar and Cleveland council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£644

August 2026 · Redcar and Cleveland council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.